Do you want someone to check your story before it is published? It's a simple and streamlined process with the StoryChief editor! You can ask anyone to review a story: co-workers, freelancers, translators etc. It's up to you!

Watch our Academy video 📹 on creating your first article for a step-by-step guide:

Asking for a review

Viewing the status of a request

Deleting an approval request

Asking for a review

Step 1. Go to the stories overview and open a story.

Step 2. Click on Collaborate located at the top right of the editor.

Step 3. Choose Ask someone to review.

Step 4. A new window will appear where you can choose a user inside your workspace or enter the email addresses of people without a user account.

Enable the Also ask for approval checkbox to allow the person to approve or decline the current state of the story (this does not automatically publish the story or prevent its publication).

Step 5. People you request will receive a notification via email:

By clicking on Review, they will open your story and will be able to accept or decline it. They can also leave some extra feedback if needed.

They can also close the Review tab and reopen it again when needed by clicking on Pending approval at the top right corner:

Step 6. Before or after approving or declining the story, they can also send comments to any user. Some users first send a number of comments to the copywriter with changes that need to be made, and once done, they approve the story.

Step 7. The user that has sent the approval request will receive an email and an in-app notification every time the story has been approved or declined.

Viewing the status of a request

In the Stories overview page, you will see who was sent a request for approval and the current status. In the example below, you can see that it is currently pending by 2 people, an existing user and a non-user:

Deleting an approval request

Step 1. Open the Review sidebar inside the story by clicking on Pending approval.

Step 2. Click on ... next to their name and click on Delete. A window will appear asking you to type "DELETE" to confirm this request.

📚 Next steps?

Did this answer your question?